• Review: iPhone 5s

    Posted by Mike Yawney on September 18th, 2013 View Comments

    iphone 5s_3

    Over the past week I’ve been bombarded with questions about the iPhone 5s. What are the new features? Is it worth upgrading to if I already own an iPhone 5? Many are curious about Apple’s latest device, but aren’t certain if it’s worth upgrading to. I’ve spent the past 7 days using the device. Is it nice? You bet! Are the new features cool? There’s no doubt about it! Is it worth upgrading to? Well…that depends.

    Read More »

  • Review: The Last of Us

    Posted by Mike Yawney on June 15th, 2013 View Comments

    The world as you know it is over. A fungal virus has swept across the US completely devastating society. Everyone who has breathed in the toxic spores has turned into a mindless, zombie-like creature, hell-bent on feeding off the flesh of the living. In an effort to contain the outbreak, entire cities have been bombed. The handful who survived the devastation now live in fear, not only of the horrific creatures which prowl the streets, but of other survivors who will stop at nothing to ensure they have enough supplies to make it on their own, even if it means killing others.

    I know what you’re thinking; you’ve heard it all before. In fact, you’ve probably played many games with similar zombie-style plots. Let’s get one thing clear, they’re not like The Last of Us, quite possibly the PlayStation 3′s swan song.

    Read More »

  • 5 Things You Didn’t Know About the BlackBerry Q10

    Posted by Mike Yawney on June 7th, 2013 View Comments

    q10

    What goes into designing a successful smartphone? Turns out there’s a lot more to the design process than many realize. Take the BlackBerry Q10 for example. The design appears to be quite simple. In fact, some may say it shares the same design as the Bold, or any other classic qwerty style BlackBerry device. Take a closer look.

    “There are millions of decisions that go into every Blackberry.” says Todd Wood, SVP of Design for BlackBerry as he sat down with me at BlackBerry Live, the annual developer conference in orlando, Florida. “It’s a creative process. It’s about teamwork. It’s sort of a village raising a baby if you will”

    More than 100 people helped design the latest BlackBerry device, spending countless hours discussing the shape, form, look and feel. A lot of thought went into every single aspect of the device. Wood let me in on some of the secrets of the BlackBerery Q10′s design. Here’s a few things you may not know about the Q10.

    Read More »

  • Nintendo Reminding Gamers the Wii U is a new Console

    Posted by Mike Yawney on May 2nd, 2013 View Comments

    When Nintendo initially launched the Wii U late last year there was a lot of confusion over what exactly the device was. Many questioned if it was a brand new console or simply an upgrade to the existing (and aging) gaming machine. Turns out many are still confused.

    Earlier this week, Nintendo sent out a software update for the Wii U, adding additional functionality. At the same time it pushed a notification to original Wii users, clarifying the Wii U is a brand new console.

    Read More »

  • BlackBerry Z10 Review

    Posted by Mike Yawney on February 5th, 2013 View Comments

    bb10_1

    Not too long ago you could have walked down the street of any major city and found the majority of people had a BlackBerry clutched in their hand. Oh how the mighty have fallen. Rather than build on the innovation that made it a smartphone pioneer, Canadian tech giant Research in Motion sat on the laurels of its success while rival companies delivered more powerful, sexier, user-friendly hand sets to market. It was a move that would set the company back years, and make it a shadow of what it once was.

    Now the company that essentially introduced the smartphone to the world is fighting back, refocusing its efforts to create a device that will make the brand BlackBerry relevant once again — a device that not only catches up to existing smartphones, but one that will prove there is room for another major player in the smartphone market. After much speculation, criticism and numerous delays, BlackBerry has finally released the Z10, sporting the brand new BlackBerry 10 operating system. Is it the phone that will put BlackBerry on top once again? Read my review to find out.

    Read More »

  • Sony to Unveil Playstation 4 on February 20th?

    Posted by Mike Yawney on February 1st, 2013 View Comments

    Is Sony ready to reveal its plans for a new Playstation console? Well it appears that could be the case.

    Last night I received an invite to a press event later this month in New York City. Normally I wouldn’t think twice about receiving such an invite, however this one was a bit cryptic. Rather than stating what will be discussed, the invite simply stated it was to attend the “Playstation Meeting 2013″. There was also a cryptic video attached which can be watched above.

    What does it all mean? The Wall Street Journal is saying “people in the know” are confirming the event will focus on the Playstation 4. However they don’t expect any specs of the console to be revealed, rather the event will focus on connectivity and how players will interact with the device.

    Read More »

  • Review: Far Cry 3

    Posted by Mike Yawney on December 2nd, 2012 View Comments

    Every fall, video game journalists are inundated with copies of games from developers looking for press leading into the holiday season. As someone who reviews not only games, but a wide variety of electronics for a living, it’s important for me to limit the amount of time I spend with each title to ensure I can get to as many as possible. I’m not saying I rush through them, as I still tend to complete the majority, however I may not go after every weapon upgrade or achievement. Then a title like Far Cry 3 comes out and completely ruins my routine.

    You know you play a game too much when you spend almost every waking moment sitting in front of it — when it finds its way into your dreams at night, preventing you from getting a good night sleep. Yes, Far Cry 3 is that game, and it’s easily one of the best of the year.

    Read More »

  • Review: New Super Mario Bros. U

    Posted by Mike Yawney on November 18th, 2012 View Comments

    The launch of Nintendo’s Wii U is a historic one. Not only will we be seeing Nintendo games in HD for the first time, it’s also the first Nintendo console to launch with a new Mario title in 16 years. Seriously, no joke. Back in 1996, Nintendo launched the N64 with Super Mario 64. Sure we’ve Mario titles since then, but not coinciding with a console launch. Well friends, the wait is over.

    New Super Mario Bros U brings a fresh coat of paint to a beloved franchise. Instead of showing off the Wii U’s graphical power with a 3D platformer, Nintendo has chosen to stick with the tried and true 2D side-scroller; one you can play with up to 4 of your friends. Multiplayer Mario may not be new, but Nintendo always has a way of taking their franchises to the next level and New Super Mario Bros U is no exception.

    Read More »

  • Unboxing Nintendo’s Wii U Deluxe Set

    Posted by Mike Yawney on November 16th, 2012 View Comments

    Curious about what’s inside Nintendo’s Wii U box? We’ve received our Wii U Deluxe Set from Nintendo and thought we’d snap a few photos to show you what’s inside.

    Read More »

  • Review: Surface

    Posted by Mike Yawney on November 15th, 2012 View Comments

    A few weeks ago Microsoft held a massive press event in New York where it invited media from around the globe to witness the launch of its latest operating system Windows 8. While the event focused on the software side of things, we didn’t know at the time a second event was to take place that afternoon; one which would show off its new Surface tablet. For some strange reason Microsoft was being very secretive about what would take place. In fact, once the presentation finally got underway Microsoft wouldn’t let the media record or broadcast any part of it. It got me thinking, maybe the presentation was smoke and mirrors. Maybe Surface really couldn’t perform as well as it did up on stage. It wasn’t until a few days later when I received a unit to test for myself. I decided to put away my other tablets and use Surface as my primary device for 10 days to see if it could possibly live up to Microsoft’s hype. How well did it perform? Read on to find out.

    Read More »